gamesmyway

Just another WordPress.com site

Daily Archives: December 21, 2010

Mafia 2 – PC

The game with so much potential. The game I was really looking forward to. The game I thought would be the best game, just failed. They promised us great story, living city, amazing graphics and so on. The graphics were great, but not amazing, maybe if they had released it 3 years before, maybe then the graphics would have been amazing. The story was a disappointment, maybe it was because the story writer, Daniel Vavra, left the company and the guys who now had to polish the story, screwed it up, badly. It just had too many holes in it and you never felt like you were the main character, Vito. The good thing is that you really felt like you were in the old times. Okay, the city felt alive and all, but that just isn’t enough. All the gas station guys looked the same and that was just funny. In one mission you had to go through like 5-6 gas stations and even then they couldn’t make the gas station guys look different. But maybe in Empire Bay, the gas stations were really run by clones, I don’t know.People at 2k Czech had lots and lots of time to make Mafia 2 and I don’t understand why they didn’t use that time to make the game perfect as it should have been.

Want to blow it up? No can do

The soundtrack was really great and I enjoyed driving around the city listening to the radio. Many people say that driving around in Mafia 2 was the worst thing about the game, but I don’t find that annoying. I had my fun playing the game, but it just wasn’t IT. I really loved Mafia 1, the game was different, it had a story, it was interesting to play. Mafia 1 is way better than Mafia 2 and that’s true. I have no idea why they cut off the melee weapons from the game, it’s like having a radio in a car, but not listening to music.

You want to be him

I never had a feeling like I was a mafia guy, I felt like an ordinary guy who just makes money using the illegal way. The city was quite small and you had no things to do in there. When I first saw that huge baseball stadium, I instantly thought that some mission must occur inside that stadium, but no, it was just there to see, nothing else. The main character, Vito, was a just a killer with no emotions. Joe, his best buddy, was a lucky drunk. The funny thing is that I felt like Joe was more appropriate main character, because he had more character in him, he was an interesting guy not like boring Vito. I never felt like I was in control of the story or whether can affect the story somehow, it was just too linear. They first said that they have three different endings and I would have liked that, now they only had one ending which was quite disappointing for me to be honest. Too many loose ends. Although I feel like I’m cheated with Mafia 2, I really hope that they make Mafia 3 and they learn from their mistakes.

+

Soundtrack

1940s and 50s

Joe

Driving

Same looking characters

So much potential

No melee weapons

Holes in the story

Score 8,2

Batman: Arkham City screenshots

Can’t… wait… anymore….

Here, take this door!

Here you go

I have one hand free, care to join?